Songs for the Season

Unique Musical Programs

The Beat Goes On

There have been big things happening in my domestic life, meanwhile I have been doing a lot more reading (study) than writing (blogging). Still there has been progress on several points to report concerning projects in development.

For “Lyrics by Shakespeare”, I have continued my voice lessons with Matthew Ellenwood and I think I have benefited greatly. I’m developing the technique to sustain a program of Renaissance music and have one or two key pieces on board. I’m getting to know Matthew better, as well as Louise Cloutier, both of whom compose music in period mode. I have started to define which pieces need arranging and/or composition and discussing with Matthew and Louise.

On the writing for Lyrics by Shakespeare, I have been exploring in my reading what it means to be a bard to a noble family. I am searching for the right persona to frame the material. At present I think it might be a modern devotee (thinly disguised “me”) sort of an eccentric professor, but it also might be a voice channeled from the period; or both.

On “It’s Spring Again” while I’ve been trying to put the program on the back burner, it keeps coming back. I’ve been working with coach/music director Andrew Blendermann to whip together an opening medley. It is a mélange of spring songs concerning “birds” tied together by Porter’s “Be Like the Bluebird.” Whimsical and audacious. I want to get the arrangement settled before moving on.

Also, at the urging of my partner David, I’ve begun work on “Poisoning Pigeons in the Park” so as to keep the spring program from waxing too saccharine. Andrew was very enthusiastic about the choice.

I’m also still looking for a big closer and think I may have something with Youmans’ “Great Day” which I remembered from chorus in high school, but apparently now is known as a Streisand or McCartney tune!

On the open mic stuff, I’ve identified a couple of things with which to introduce myself – but I’m still working on arrangements etc. As time rolls on, I’m turning my attention more to refining last year’s summer program and mining it for open mic material. Also, the open mic venues seem to be a bit fluid right now, so I need to keep up with where the opportunities may be.

I’ll have some reflections soon on other cabaret artists I’ve been seeing. I have been attending several events without bloggin. Just observing and really enjoying life in Chicagoland.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

